Skip to content

Indian Modern History Quiz: Questions and Answers, Mock Test, MCQs, Online Test

  • by
Indian Modern History Quiz

There are many candidates preparing for the competitive examinations. And the questions on Indian Modern History are much important. In this article, we present you the Multiple Choice Questions and Answers on Indian Modern History, which will help you to improve general knowledge.

The questions and answers present in this article will also help you to prepare for the exams such as SSC, CDS, NDA, GPSC,UPSC, State Level and National Level competitive exams. This article will help you to prepare for the exams with ease. You can also use this article for your practice session. So, lets start.

Indian Modern History Quiz

Indian Modern History Quiz

Answers are in BOLD

#1. When was the ‘Quit India Movement’ Launched by Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi?

A. 1942
B. 1946
C. 1940
D. 1939

#2. What was the another name of ‘Quit India movement’?

A. Home Rule Movement
B. Khilafat Movement
C. August Kranti
D. Swadeshi Movement

#3. Which of the following leader who presided All India Congress Committee session on 9th August?

A. Annie Besant
B. Mahatma Gandhi
C. Jawaharlal Nehru
D. Aruna Asif Ali

#4. When was the August Kranti pulled back?

A. 1943
B. 1942
C. 1945
D. 1947

#5. Who had given the slogan of ‘Do or Die’during All India Congress Committee in Bombay and ratified the ‘Quit India’ resolution?

A. Jawaharlal Nehru
B. Jayaprakash Narayan
C. Mahatma Gandhi
D. Subhash Chandra Bose

#6. What was the another name of ‘Pledge of Indian Independence’?

A. Declaration of Independence
B. Declaration of Constituent Assembly
C. Declaration of Constitution
D. None of the above

#7. The national anthem of India ‘Jana Gana Mana’ was first sung at __:

A. Calcutta, 1912
B. Mumbai, 1912
C. Delhi, 1911
D. Calcutta, 1911

#8. The first meeting of Indian National Congress was held in Bombay in 1885 A.D. under the leadership of __:

A. Sir C. Sankaran Nair
B. Dadabhai Naoroji
C. Vyomesh Chandra Banerjee
D. Badruddin Tyabji

#9. Who among the following introduced the subsidiary alliance system in India?

A. Lord Wellesley
B. Lord Canning
C. Lord Cliv
D. Lord Cunningham

#10. Which among the following observed the Direct Action Day on August 16, 1946?

A. Hindu League
B. Sikh League
C. Christian League
D. Muslim League

#11. The Indian National Association formed in Calcutta by whom among the following?

A. Debendranath Tagore
B. Surendranath Banerjee
C. Prasanno Kumar Tagore
D. Dwarkanath Tagore

#12. Which among the following is India’s first Oil refinery?

A. Digboi Refinery
B. Barauni Refinery
C. Vishakhapatnam Refinery
D. Guwahati Refinery

#13. Who among the following was the author of Anand Math?

A. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
B. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
C. Ravindranath Tagore
D. Bankim Chandra Chatterjee

#14. Who among the following had drafted the “Declaration of Independence” pledge in 1930?

A. C. R. Das
B. Mahatma Gandhi
C. Jawahar Lal Nehru
D. Motilal Nehru

#15. Who among the following played a dominant role in the famous Vaikom Satyagraha of 1924–25?

A. T. K. Madhavan
B. Muloor S.Padmanabha Panicker
C. K. Kelappan
D. Balarama Varma

#16. Which among the following Charter Acts ended the commercial monopoly of East India Company in India?

A. Charter Acts of 1813
B. Charter Acts of 1833
C. Charter Acts of 1853
D. Charter Acts of 1793

#17. Who among the following is associated with Shanti Van?

A. Rajiv Gandhi
B. Sardar Patel
C. Jawahar Lal Nehru
D. Rama Krishna Paramhans

#18. At the consequence of Jallianwala Bagh, who among the following had renounced his knighthood (to protest the incident)?

A. Bipin Chandra Pal
B. Motilal Nehru
C. Chitranjan Das
D. Rabindranath Tagore

#19. In whose viceroyalty, the Hindu Mahasabha was established?

A. Lord Chelmsford
B. Lord Hardinge II
C. Lord Curzon
D. Lord Minto

#20. Which of the following Acts had referred council as the Legislative Council?

A. Indian Councils Act of 1909
B. Indian Councils Act of 1892
C. Indian Councils Act of 1861
D. Act of 1858

#21. Who among the following had organized Ganapati and Shivaji festivals?

A. Lala Lajpat Rai
B. G. K. Gokhale
C. Lokmanya Tilak
D. Ramendra Sunder Trivedi

#22. In 1878, the Famine Commission was constituted, who among the following was the president of the commission?

A. Richard Burn
B. Wilson Hunter
C. William Stevenson Meyer
D. Richard Strachey

Article last re-published on August 19, 2020.