Skip to content

Indian States and their Languages [Best Compilation]

  • by
Rashtrapati Bhavan India

India is a diverse country with unique culture and language in each state. In a few states, you would find even diverse languages with different culture. It is one of the most popular things about India. There are several number of languages used in India on daily basis. Hindi is widely understood in India except in Southern states. However, Hindi is not alone widely spoken in all states. English is one of the growing languages in India.

In metro cities, youth knows more than one languages, thanks to education and culture. In this article, we have provided a good list of languages for each state in India.

Rashtrapati Bhavan India

Rashtrapati Bhavan India

Indian States with their Most Spoken Languages

  • Uttar Pradesh: Hindi, Urdu, Punjabi, Bengali
  • Delhi: Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, Bengali, Maithili
  • Maharashtra: Marathi, Hindi, Urdu, Gujarati, Telugu
  • Daman & Diu: Gujarati, Hindi, Marathi, Bengali, Odia
  • Bihar: Hindi, Maithili, Urdu, Bengali, Santali
  • Dadra & Nagar Haveli: Hindi, Gujarati, Marathi, Konkani, Odia
  • Andaman & Nicobar Islands: Bengali, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam
  • Chhattisgarh: Hindi, Oriya, Bengali, Telugu, Marathi
  • Andhra Pradesh: Telugu, Urdu, Hindi, Tamil, Marathi
  • Chandigarh: Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, Nepali, Bengali
  • Arunachal Pradesh: Nishi, Adi, Bengali, Nepali, Hindi
  • Assam: Assamese, Bengali, Hindi, Bodo, Nepali
  • Goa: Konkani, Marathi, Hindi, Kannada, Urdu
  • Nagaland: Naga Languages, English, Hindi, Assamese, Manipuri
  • Haryana: Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, Bengali, Maithili
  • Mizoram: Mizo, English, Hindi, Manipuri, Chakma
  • Himachal Pradesh: Hindi, Punjabi, Nepali, Kashmiri, Dogri
  • Meghalaya: Kashi, Garo, Bengali, Assamese, English
  • Jammu and Kashmir: Kashmiri, Hindi, Dogri, Punjabi
  • Manipur: Manipuri, Nepali, Hindi, Bengali
  • Jharkhand: Hindi, Sabthali, Bengali, Urdu, Odia
  • Madhya Pradesh: Hindi, Marathi, Urdu, Sindhi, Gujarati
  • Karnataka: Kannada, Urdu, Telugu, Tamil, Marathi
  • Lakshadweep: Malayalam, Tamil, Hindi, Bengali, Telugu
  • Kerala: Malayalam, Tamil, Tulu, Kannada, Konkani
  • Odisha: Oriya, Bengali, Telugu, Hindi, Santali
  • Tripura: Bengali, Kokborok, Assamese, English, Manipuri
  • Puducherry: Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, French, English
  • Telangana: Telugu, Urdu, Marathi, Kannada, Hindi
  • Punjab: Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, English
  • Tamil Nadu: Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Urdu, Malayalam
  • Rajasthan: Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, Sindhi, Gujarati
  • Sikkim: Nepali, Hindi, Bengali, Urdu, Punjabi
  • Uttarakhand: Hindi, Urdu, Punjabi, Bengali, Nepali
  • West Bengal: Bengali, Hindi, Santali, Urdu, Nepali

Read More Articles:
Indian Government Officials, Constitutional Functionaries and Other Important Dignitaries Salaries